We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.


New Wilderness Audiographics - Recordings 1977 - 1984 (11LP Box + Book)

Label: Vinyl-On-Demand

Format: 11LP Box + Book

Genre: Experimental

In stock

"Wilderness Audiographics - Recordings 1977-1984" is an astounding 11LP wooden boxset and a hardcover book, issued in a numbered edition of 333 copies, that takes a deep, exploratory dive into Charlie Morrow’s historically significant and much coveted imprint, gathering mind-blowing, little heard works by Morrow, Philip Corner, Jackson Mac Low, Pauline Oliveros, Jerome Rothenberg, R.I.P. Hayman, Ocarina Orchestra, Alison Knowles, Dick Higgins, Bernard Heidsieck, and a great many more. While remarkably different in their own ways, each of these astounding collections illuminates hugely important efforts and proximities within the sonic underground during the 1970s and '80s.

* Ltd. 333 copies, 11 LP housed in a wooden box, including a hardcover book and numbered certificate * The imprint New Wilderness Audiographics, which released roughy 30 cassettes between 1977 and 1984, was the first artists audio work label in the USA. Grown from the The New Wilderness Foundation, Inc., founded in 1974 by poet Jerome Rothenberg and sound artist, sound poet Charlie Morrow as a means to explore and disseminate New/Old Explorations of Sound and Oral Poetry, extending from the disciplines of ethnopoetics and performance arts: a blend of experimental and traditional arts espousing a "new wilderness", a source of perpetual renewal and new ideas, that produced events, publications, broadcasts and productions. The imprint, founded in 1977 by Morrow and quickly taking on a number of collaborators, including Rothenberg and Rip Hayman, became a radical vehicle for the ideas that rested at the heart of the foundation. For decades, in no small part due to the growing reverence for the artists it released, the output of New Wilderness Audiographics has been hotly pursued by fans and collectors of experimental music and sound practice. VOD’s towering 11LP box set represents the first compressive effort to reissue this material and bring an exhaustive overview to a new generation of fans.

The 11 LPs of “New Wilderness Audiographics - Recordings 1977-1984” comprise a considerable cross section of the material issued by the imprint over the course of its seven year run, including astounding pieces like Annea Lockwood’s “Tiger Balm”, “World Rhythms”, “Malaman”, and “Cloud Music”; Philip Corner’s “Uhhm (After a Deep and Tibetan Image)” and   “Metal Meditations”; Jackson Mac Low and Pauline Oliveros“Homage To Leona Bleiweiss”; Jerome Rothenberg's “Horse Song”; Alison Knowles’ “Natural Assemblage and the True Crow”, “Sounds from The Book of Bean” and “Essential Divisions”; Dick Higgins’ “Poems and MetapoemΩ”, Bernard Heidsieck’s “Le Carrefour de la Chaussée d'Antin”; works for Gamelan Son of Lion and Bread and Puppet Theater, and so much more. Covering a remarkable range of practices, from sound poetry to groundbreaking gestures of music that remain as fresh and challenging as the day they where made, VOD’s collection illuminates one of the most important catalog’s of recordings ever released within the sonic avant-garde that’s remained nearly unobtainable for decades.

An engrossing, transportive revalation through every one of its minutes, VOD’s “New Wilderness Audiographics - Recordings 1977-1984” is issued as an 11LP black vinyl, wooden box set, in a numbered edition of 333 copies, including a hardcover book and numbered certificate. Each record is housed in its own cover (the Lockwood cover houses two LPs), and the book includes original cassette credits and notes plus reprints from New Wilderness Newsletter and Tom Johnson's Village Voice reviews, and previously unpublished photos and documents, as well as a new introductory text by Charlie Morrow. Nothing short of monumental and as essential as they come.

- A originally released 1977 on Philip Corner - Uhhm (After A Deep And Tibetan Image) / Om-'Pot'-Breath-Rhythm-Constant
- B originally released 1977 on Philip Corner - Metal Meditations
- C originally released 1977 on Charlie Morrow - Hour Of Changes...
- D1, D2 originally released 1977 on Charlie Morrow - Personal Chants
- D3 originally released 1977 on Leonard Crow Dog, Mary Crow Dog - Leonard & Mary Crow Dog
- E, F originally released 1977 on Annea Lockwood - Annea Lockwood
- G, H originally released 1977 on Annea Lockwood - Malaman / Cloud Music
- I originally released 1977 on Jackson Mac Low - Homage To Leona Bleiweiss
- J1, J2 originally released 1977 on Jackson Mac Low - Jackson Mac Low
- K1, K2 originally released 1977 on Jerome Rothenberg - Horse Songs
- L1, L2 originally released 1980 on "Dreamsound, India Transformed" (New Wilderness Audiographics 7914A)
- M originally released 1980 on "Roll 'Em on Honey" (New Wilderness Audiographics 8120A)
- N originally released 1982 on Ocarina Orchestra - Ocarina Orchestra
- O originally released 1977 on Alison Knowles - Alison Knowles
- P1, P2 originally released 1981 on “Alison Knowles” (New Wilderness Audiographics 8112A)
- Q1, Q2 originally released 1983 on “How She Sees it By Her” (New Wilderness Audiographics 8128A)
- R1 to R3 originally released 1982 on Anne Tardos - Gatherings
- S originally released 1981 on Dick Higgins - Poems And Metapoems
- T originally released 1982 on Bernard Heidsieck - Le Carrefour De La Chaussée D'Antin (Passe Partout No. 11, 12, 14, 17, 18, 19)
- U1, U2 originally released 1984 on Bread And Puppet Theater - Insurrection Oratorio
- V originally released 1984 on "Pieces for Gamelan Son of Lion" (New Wilderness Audiographics 8442B)

Cat. number: VOD 181
Year: 2024

More by Various