We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.



Francisco Meirino

A New Instability (LP)

Label: Helen Scarsdale Agency

Format: LP

Genre: Experimental

In stock


In 2019, the power-acoustic musician Francisco Meirino presented A New Instability, a commission for the venerable Ina-GRM in Paris. Of course, this institution is the pre-eminent center for the research and study of electro-acoustic music dating back to the founding of Groupe de Recherches Musicales in 1958 by Pierre Schaeffer. To this day, Ina-GRM continues to be at the vangarde of the electro-acoustic composition, and it is quite an accomplishment and very appropriate for Meirino to receive such a commission.

This recording of A New Instability condenses the 32-channel original piece down to a still very active stereo version. Here, Meirino continues to amplify and refine his compositions that walk a fine tightrope between raw expressivity of brutalist noise and conceptual rigor of more academic pursuits. Such a work ranks him in with the likes of Zbigniew Karkowski, Dave Phillips, Puce Mary, and Illusion Of Safety.

Field recordings from a kendo dojo in his hometown of Lausanne, Switzerland, cast a pugilistic, combative arch to these recordings which snap, burst, explode, and erupt with utterances of men and women engaged in hand-to-hand combat. Searing frequencies build, swarm, and amass out of these episodes rise to a psychologically tense crescendo that ruptures at their heights, quickly turning attention towards a violence that originates from within. It is as if the objective observations of those martial arts recordings are sublimated within a subjective experience of psychic unease, disquiet, and imbalance.

A New Instability is another magnificent chapter in the ongoing body of work for this accomplished composer of electro-acoustic noise.

Cat. number: HMS 057 LP
Year: 2021

More by Francisco Meirino

La Plainte (Lp)
LP | €19.90
Beyond Repair
CD | €8.00

More from Helen Scarsdale Agency

From Industry Home (Tape)
Tape | €10.90
Commit (LP)
LP | €21.90
Dugong Weeps (Tape)
Tape | €10.90
The Glare of the Nave (Tape)
Tape | €10.90
Goner (Tape)
Tape | €10.90
Related Ephemera (LP)
LP | €17.90
Winter (LP)
LP | €19.90
Ozeanische Gefühle
CD | €13.50
We Share a Shadow
CD | €13.50
CD | €13.50
Samoa Highway (LP)
LP | €18.90
Works For Cassette (LP)
LP | €18.90
Lemegeton Party (LP)
LP | €18.90
Episodes (Lp)
LP | €18.90
Maps (LP)
LP | €18.90
Khayal Kuno
TAPE | €9.00
Pasar Fosil
TAPE | €9.00
TAPE | €9.00
Ghosts Inside
LP | €19.90