We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.

Cosmic Vibrations, Dwight Trible

Pathways & Passages (LP)

Label: Spiritmuse Records

Format: LP

Genre: Jazz

In stock


2024 Stock. Huge Tip! Spiritmuse presents “Pathways & Passages”, the debut album from “Cosmic Vibrations” the LA-based ensemble led by acclaimed jazz vocalist Dwight Trible that defines spiritual jazz in the 21st century. A genre-defying amalgamation of divine vocals, soul-stirring jazz, healing poetry, with a rich tapestry of African, Mesoamerican and indigenous North American percussion and instrumentation, taking you on a cosmic journey of spiritual improvisation and beyond.

Cosmic Vibrations is a supergroup of heavyweight musicians with a vast combined experience, an ensemble of 6 souls who approach improvisation full of spirit and without ego. Gathered for this very purpose by Dwight Trible, undoubtedly the most acclaimed and in-demand vocalist currently working in the realms of spiritual jazz, the band has been performing steadily over the last three years, building a reputation in LA and further afield for their electric, mesmerising performances. “Pathways & Passages” presents the first time that their transcendental sound has been recorded and publicly released.

A show-stopping performer and artist, Dwight Trible has directed the legendary Horace Tapscott Pan Afrikan Peoples Arkestra, and performed alongside with the likes of Pharoah Sanders, J Dilla, Gary Bartz, Kamasi Washington, Kahil El’Zabar, Madlib, Charles Lloyd, Matthew Halsall, Georgia Anne Muldrow, Soil & “Pimp” Sessions, Mark de Clive-Lowe, and Carlos Niño. There is indeed no one today who better carries on the tradition of legendary jazz vocalists such as Terry Callier, Leon Thomas and Andy Bey, whilst carrying that torch forward and exploring brand new territory. Apart from his rich vocal tones, Trible is also heard on kalimba here.

Improvisation forms the core of this record, but the rhythm, the groove is never absent. The poetry led “Nature’s Vision” sets the tone for the record’s journey, but it peaks on the group’s incredible rendition “Motherless Child”. A live favourite of Trible’s, this bluesy take rides heavy on Williams’ bass and enjoys the addition of guest Scott Fraser’s lap steel guitar. With his rich, emotive singing Trible takes full possession of the song. By the time the beautiful closing ballad, “Some Other Time” ends, the album has truly succeeded in transcending the listener from their earthly surroundings.

A genre-defying amalgam of divine vocals, intuitive improvisation and deeply spiritual music, on Trible’s voice soars among the nexus of winds & skins from an incredibly talented and “deeply rooted” group in complete brotherly connection with one another. If you are looking for genuine, soul-enriching spiritual jazz today, look no further than “Pathways & Passages”.

Cat. number: SPM004
Year: 2024
Includes Prophet brochure. All titles composed by Sun Ra © Enterplanetary Koncepts Original sessions produced by Sun Ra and Bill Sebastian Session recording engineers: Kent Wagner, Jimi Randolph, and Sidney Burton Recorded at Mission Control Studios, Westford, Massachusetts, August 25, 1986 Original master tapes transferred by Joe Pires and David Minehan at Woolly Mammoth Studios, Waltham, Massachusetts, May 17, 2016 Mixed by Sean Slade and Brother Cleve at Woolly Mammoth Studios Engineer: David Minehan Mastered by: Joe Lizzi Executive Producer: Irwin Chusid Release Producer: Jay Millar Special thanks to Thomas Jenkins, Jr. In memory of Dave Smith, thank you for making this all possible. In loving tribute to our friend Brother Cleve. ℗ 2022 Modern Harmonic • Nashville • mondernharmonic.com • Manufactured under license from Sun Ra, LLC. The side lengths and insert track descriptions indicate that the track listing on the cover and labels are wrong. The track order of the record is: A1 The Prophet 16:29 A2 The Prophet At Play 6:35 B1 Infinity Excursion 2:04 B3 The Prophet Returns 12:06