We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.


Out of stock


Second Original Silence

Label: Smalltown Superjazzz

Format: Vinyl LPx2

Genre: Jazz

Out of stock

Thurston Moore, Jim O'Rourke and Mats Gustafsson last convened for the monumentally noisy Diskaholics Anonymous LP, Weapons of Ass Destruction. Now the trio have returned to Smalltown Superjazz for yet more sonic carnage, this time joined by ace drummer Paal Nilssen-Love, guitarist Terrie Ex and bassist Massimo Pupillo. There's a tremendous breadth to the kind of ground covered by these musicians. At no point do you feel as if the ensemble is running out of ideas or stagnating on one particular sound: over the course of fifteen minutes the first piece 'If Light Has No Age, Then Time Has No Shadow' finds the musicians getting the feel for the parameters of the session, with a varying array of styles ranging from sheer free jazz abandon (largely thanks to Nilssen-Love's incredible rhythmic upsets) to no wave garage rock. The main course here however, is 'In The Name Of The Law' clocking in at over three-quarters of an hour. There's a sense of patience and an accumulation of tension here that explodes into passages of frenzied stadium noise. Approximately halfway through, O'Rourke's howling electronics set the tone, with fluctuating waves of guitar feedback playing in a dissonant, yet strangely harmonised fashion alongside. After a few moments of quiet sonic exploration, those maniacal drums slowly begin to reassert themselves and Gustafsson's agonised sax stirs back into life, leading up to another final surge in this terrifying, yet absolutely masterful, wall of sound.
Cat. number: stsj144lp
Year: 2009