We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.


Out of stock

Evan Parker

Seven ElectroAcoustic Septet

Label: Les Disques Victo

Format: CD

Genre: Experimental

Out of stock

UK multi-reed master Evan Parker brings an all-star electroacoustic septet to the 2014 Victoriaville Festival for the massive and wonderfully detailed two part composition "Seven", performed with Peter Evans, Okkyung Lee, George Lewis, Ikue Mori, Sam Pluta, and Ned Rothenberg.

Tip! *2022 stock* "Seven presents a compact, slimmed down, lean version of Evan Parker's Electro-Acoustic Ensemble. The expansive, texturally rich music of the septet brings to mind the edgy feel of early free improvisation. Parker's compositional method is simple: "My art of composition consists in choosing the right people and asking them to improvise. The resulting music arises from this sequence of decisions and these are the right people".

It is worth noting that in early free improvisation - say from the period of Topography of the Lungs (Incus 1, July 1970) onward - much of the tension in the music - which is the push-and-pull between known and unknown, cohesion and dissolution - was due to the players' courageous ongoing expansion of instrumental language. But players have pushed language to its virtual tipping point; so that what once sounded outrageous and demanding of innovative responses is now heard as commonplace. So presently, it seems, formal expansions - such as we hear in the collusion of logic differentials in this music - may be more the way forward. It all adds up to exceptionally stimulating music for the listener, at the center of which is an edginess we've long associated with classically great free improvisation."-Henry Kuntz

Cat. number: VICTO cd 127
Year: 2014
Recorded at 30th Festival International de Musique Actuelle de Victoriaville on 18 May 2014 ℗ Les Disques VICTO © Les Disques VICTO, SOCAN 2014

More by Evan Parker

CD | €14.50
Saxophone Solos (LP)
LP | €19.90
CD | €12.00
Six of One (LP)
LP | €19.90
CD | €12.00
CD | €15.00
Trance Map
CD digipack | €13.45
Waterloo 1985
CD | €16.50

More from Les Disques Victo

CD | €16.00
CD | €16.50