We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.
Out of stock

Steve Reich, Ekkozone, Mathias Reumert

Sextet & Double Sextet (LP)

Label: Mode

Format: LP

Genre: Compositional

Out of stock

*Limited Edition of 500 copies. 2022 stock.* "This release couples two of Reich’s “sextets” for the first time: the Sextet of 1984 and the Pulitzer Prize winning Double Sextet of 2007. A striking difference between the two pieces is that the rhythmic world of Sextet mostly consists of a single-meter grooving, while Double Sextet works in the angular, off-kilter shifting meters reminiscent of Reich’s Tehillim (also of Stravinsky).

Ekkozone impart a uniquely chamber music feel and color to these works while maintaining their propulsive character. Danish percussionist and conductor Mathias Reumert lives and breathes contemporary classical music. An in-demand soloist, he explores new percussive territory while remaining a committed interpreter of yesterday’s masterworks. As creator and leader of this acclaimed ensemble, he explores the bounderies between classical, world and experimental music in performances at rock and jazz festivals. The ensemble enjoys a special connection with Reich’s music and has performed a large part of his oeuvre, including several performances of Music for 18 Musicians."

Cat. number: mode 300
Year: 2020

Marimba, Bass Drum – Mathias Friis-Hansen
Marimba, Bass Drum, Crotales – Morten Friis
Piano, Synthesizer – Alexander Mckenzie (2), Oscar Micaelsson
Vibraphone – Mathias Reumert
Vibraphone, Marimba – David Hildebrandt
Piano – Mathias Friis-Hansen, Morten Friis
Synthesizer – David Hildebrandt

Double Sextet:
Cello – John Ehde, Miranda Harding
Clarinet – Simon Kovacs, Viktor Wennesz
Conductor – Mathias Reumert
Flute – Ingrid Søfteland Neset, Ragnhildur Jósefsdóttir
Piano – Alexander Mckenzie (2), Oscar Micaelsson
Vibraphone – Mads Hebsgaard Andersen, Mathias Friis-Hansen
Violin – Bodil Rørbech, Darragh Morgan

Art Direction – Brian Brandt
Composed By – Steve Reich
Engineer [Recording Engineer], Engineer [Mixing Engineer] – Mikkel Secher Kroner*
Executive-Producer – Brian Brandt
Liner Notes [English] – Adam Sliwinski
Liner Notes [Interviewee (Phone Interview (English))] – Steve Reich
Mastered By [24-bit Mastering With] – Brian Brandt
Mastered By [24-bit Mastering] – Paul Howells (4)
Photography By [Cover Photo Of Ekkozone] – Thomas Muus
Photography By [Photo Of Reich] – Philippe Gontier
Producer [Produced By] – Mathias Reumert