This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more


Out of stock


Viva Negativa! A Tribute To The New Blockaders Vol. II

Label: Auf Abwegen

Format: CDx2

Genre: Noise

Out of stock

Volume II in a series of UK / European / US and Japanese artists' tributes to the pioneering UK Noise group The New Blockaders including exclusive tracks by : Asmus Tietchens, RLW, Achim Wollscheid, Runzelstirn & Gurgelstock, Sudden Infant, Dave Philips, Das Synthetische Mischgewebe, Kommissar Hjuler, Mama Baer, Freiband, Vortex Campaign, Grunt, Lasse Marhaug, Jerome Noetinger, Christian Renou, Pita, Giancarlo Toniutti, Zbigniew Karkowski, Alexei Borisov, Cisfinitum, etc. Artwork by Richard Rupenus (TNB). The New Blockaders are a group who, more than any other, define the essence of true Noise music both in art and in act. Their influence on the current crop of popular crossover Noise artists such as Prurient and Wolf Eyes is immeasurable. Emerging at the beginning of the 1980s alongside the Industrial grind of Throbbing Gristle and the harsh, abrasive Power Electronics of Whitehouse, TNB stood out through a purity of vision. Their first record, 1982's Changez Les Blockeurs, is noise in its most rudimentary form: metallic grating sounds and analogue feedback redefined what could be classified as music. Its abstract form and Dadaist construction challenged all that had appeared before. It's anti-music approach presented a recording closer to the theory-driven work of Einsturzende Neubauten than their supposed contemporaries.They would appear rarely and when they did it would be in anonymity. The records would emerge even more infrequently with little information and in tiny runs. Collaborations in recent years with artists such as Sonic Youth's Thurston Moore and Merzbow have bough their anti-sound to a younger and diverse audience. The metal-bashing of K2, the awkwardness of Runzelstirn & Gurgelstock, the density of Macronympha and the abrasiveness of Merzbow all owe something to the anti-music of TNB. They can truly be credited as pioneers of Noise music as we know it today. Reissue of parts of the LP box on VoD, with some extra tracks by Jerome Noetinger, Kommissar Hjuler and more.' Note from the label.
Cat. number: AATP28
Year: 2010

More by Various

Vanity Bundle VOD 167-170, 174 (17xLP + 1x7")
17xLP + 1x7" | €340.00
De Nor 2020 Antwerpen (2LP)
2LP | €28.00
LP | €48.00
The Vanity Box Vol. 1 (5LP Box)
5LP Box | €105.00
Gambian Griot Kora Duets (LP)
LP | €25.90
The Sound of Sadism (2LP)
2LP | €38.00
Vanity Box Vol. 2 (4LP Box)
4LP box | €85.00
Vanity Records 'Demos' (2LP)
2LP | €33.00
Vanity Records CD Box bundle (31 CD) - Complete Discography
5 x Box Set, 31CD in Bundle | €250.00
Vanity Box Vol. 2 (5CD Box)
5CD box | €59.90
Music, Message and the Moment (4LP Boxset + Booklet)
4LP Boxset + Booklet | €188.00

More from Auf Abwegen

CD | €17.00
Eine Menge Papier
CD | €8.00
aufabwegen50. ausgewählte geräusche
BOOK + 2CD | €22.90
Schon geht anders
CD | €10.00
20 zonen
CD | €5.00
Schauzeichen (10")
Vinyl 10” | €6.00
Mondo Paradoxa
CD digipack | €8.00
CD | €15.00
LP | €17.90
Untitled #205
Vinyl 10” | €15.00
Through The Barricades
Vinyl 10” | €9.99
Carl's On Acit
Vinyl 10” | €9.99