We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.


Out of stock

Jean-Luc Guionnet

Points Sans Surface

Label: Circum

Format: CD

Genre: Sound Art

Out of stock

Points sans surface is a composition by Jean-Luc Guionnet for the Un Ensemble, a large ensemble created in 2012 under the direction of David Chiesa. The piece includes a sound system for 25 musicians and 8 speakers. It is also a visual experience generated by light. The general device consists of an acoustic and electroacoustic spatialization of sound. The audience is surrounded by musicians and speakers. Each instrumentalist is picked up by a microphone connected to a mixing console offering the possibility of amplifying these sources and broadcasting them again, according to the needs of the room. The sound then takes on a three-dimensional dimension: an acoustic distance (musicians), a proximity (loudspeakers), a verticality (musicians and loudspeakers are placed at different heights). Jean-Luc Guionnet indicates partition positions, and sometimes shouts them out. The musicians throw diagonals, correspondences, throws towards the walls, the floor, the ceiling. Sometimes, we perceive blocks or, on the other hand, lost solos. Beyond the autonomies of play, timbres and tempo, an indescribable feeling of sound invasion of the air settles in, disappears, returns, we hear like an orchestra that would scrap with another, elsewhere.


with Julia-Hanadi Al Abed : electronics ; Laurie Batista : voice ; Tanguy Bernard : sousaphone ; Benjamin Bondonneau : clarinet ; Christophe Cardoen : lights ; Patrick Charbonnier : trombone ; Eric Camara : double bass and viola ; Paolo Chatet : trompet ; David Chiesa : electric piano frame ; Jean-Luc Guionnet : alto saxophone ; Thomas Lachaize : saxophones ; Loic Lachaize : sound ; Juliette Lacroix : cello ; Delphine Lafon : voice ; Guillaume Laidain : analog synthesis ; Didier Lasserre : snare drum and cymbals ; Bruno Laurent : double bass ; Johann Loiseau : flutes, small percussions, theremin ; Johann Mazé : drume ; Mathias Pontevia : drums ; Christophe Ratier : bass clarinet ; Jean Marc Reilla : analog synthesis, electronics ; Julia Robin : double bass ; Jean Rougier : double bass ; Frédéric Roumagne : electric guitar ; Ian Saboya : electric guitar ; Claude Saubole : acoustic guitar ; Julien Sellam : violin ; Stéphane Torré-Truéba : indian harmonium indien, voice.

Cat. number: LX012
Year: 2019

More from Circum