The item has been added to your personal Favourites collection

andrew chalk

Ghost Of Nakhodka
€ 15.00
View your shopping activity

Wishlist 0

Cart 0

andrew chalk - Ghost Of Nakhodka

andrew chalk

Ghost Of Nakhodka

€ 15.00

GENRE: Electronic | FORMAT: CD deluxe | CATALOG N. Siren 017 | YEAR. (2012)

Out of stock

Here's the cd reissue of a 2009 cassette from the emissary of British dronemusik, Andrew Chalk. That cassette, like this cd version, had been released by the Japanese imprint Siren Records, although it seems that Chalk himself did all of the printing as with all of his Faraway Press productions. So, it certainly looks as lovely as it sounds. The album opens with a 22 minute abstraction of piano tones, smeared, stretched, and warbled by a process that seems more attuned to tape decay techniques than the placid smooth surfaces that have come from Chalk's recordings as of late. This has the sound more of the misty psychedelic ambient tapestries from Natural Snow Buildings or the hauntological loops of Indignant Senility. There's something very prescient about this track, as if Chalk were responding to many of the divergent streams of drone-based constructions that are happening throughout the world right now. The rest of the album is definitely a detour for Chalk, as he presents a series of sad, sodden snippets composed on guitar, koto, synth, piano, and field recordings. Unlike so many who attempts an album of gossamer, minimalist sounds, Chalk seeks the same chromatic hues through his sources. It's the same melancholy which runs through his impressionist drones that can be found in an ellipsis for untreated acoustic guitar or a melody upon cosmic-minded synth or an atypical strum upon his koto. That makes for quite a remarkable album for Mr. Chalk, once again (Aquarius)

Notes   Tracklisting
Packaged in handmade card slipcase mini LP boxes with embossed inner sleeve and dowelling spine.

Reissue of 2006-2009 recordings originally released on cassette in December 2009. Track 2 is exclusive to the CD and forms a link between the original A and B-side. Note however that track B1 on the cassette has been moved to track 13 on the CD. Track durations above derived from CD player. Mastered at Skye Mastering.

01 Ghost of Nakhodka
02 A Floating World
03 The Flood
04 Arrival
05 Three Rivers
06 Darkness
07 Quarters
08 Distant Lights
09 Cape and Peninsula
10 Sea of Passage
11 Lena
12 Pillars
13 Morning Star
14 The Shadow Clock