This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more


Out of stock
Spirits Rejoice! - excerpt 1
Spirits Rejoice! - excerpt 2
Spirits Rejoice! - excerpt 3
Spirits Rejoice! - excerpt 4
File under: free improvisation

Louis Moholo Octet

Spirits Rejoice! (LP)

Label: Otoroku

Format: LP

Genre: Jazz

Out of stock

**1000 copies** Otoroku is extremely proud to present the first vinyl reissue of one of the most legendary free jazz records ever produced. Originally released in 1978 on Ogun recordings, Louis Moholo Octet’s Spirits Rejoice! is a high achievement in the movement of the era as it soars beyond oppression with a raucous and spiritually uplifting surge of movement and melody. Featuring Harry Miller, Johnny Dyani, Keith Tippett, Evan Parker, Nick Evans, Radu Malfatti and Kenny Wheeler, this is former Blue Note artist Louis Moholo’s first album under his own name and is a classic example of the cross-pollination between South African and British players. Mongezi Feza’s You Ain’t Gonna Know Me ‘Cos You Think You Know Me alone is enough to make your life a better place. This 2019 re-issue has been made with permission and in association with Ogun records and features an exact reproduction of the original artwork and liner notes along with new liner notes from Matthew Wright. Remastered by Giuseppe Ielasi and packaged in a high gloss sleeve this is the definitive release of one of the absolute free jazz classics of the 20th Century.

File under: free improvisation
Cat. number: ROKU (RE) 4
Year: 2019

More from Otoroku

The Snake Decides (Lp)
LP | €19.90
Collected Solos (4Lp Box + Tape)
4LP box + tape | €132.00
Saxophone Solos (LP)
LP | €19.90
Six of One (LP)
LP | €19.90
Yurt Yeri
LP | €19.90
Spontaneous combustion
CDx2 | €14.50
CDx2 | €13.00