We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.


Out of stock

Aleksi Heinola Quintet

Aleksi Heinola Quintet (LP + CD)

Label: Jazzaggression Records

Format: LP

Genre: Jazz

Out of stock

Brand new sparkling hard-bop in the Quintet formula, from aspiring Finnish drummer talent Aleksi Heinola! This is the full album by Aleksi Heinola Quintet, featuring a top cast of Finnish jazz-men: Mikael Jakobsson on keys (Five Corners Quintet), Mikko Gunu Karjalainen on trumpet and flugelhorn, Manuel Dunkel on tenor saxophone (UMO Jazz band) and Swedish Daniel Franck on double bass. Aleksi wanted to make his debut album where his heart lies musically, in the modern hardbop landscape of past greats like Art Blakey and Horace Silver. A strong rhythmical debut that showcases strong melodies with rich detail and great interplay. Album has four originals songs composed by Heinola and one cover, comes sealed in laminated UK-flap over sleeve with digital download and additional CD with 4 extra tracks. Lacquer cut by Timmion Records.


"A contemporary Finnish group, and a great one too – a combo who play with the sharp, soulful tones of a Blue Note lineup from the 60s – but all without ever sounding like they’re trying to copy that mode too much! Instead, these guys just have a proud, confident sense of their strengths – which they bring to their music in a wonderful way. The set’s got this mix of sophistication and swing – a bit like late 60s work by Hank Mobley or Lee Morgan – and titles include the originals 'Bossa 69', 'Three Fiddy', 'Rudy', and 'Silver Maze' – plus a groovy take on 'Wives & Lovers'." (Dusty Groove)

Cat. number: JALP718
Year: 2019

More by Aleksi Heinola Quintet