We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.

Pascal Comelade, The Liminanas

Boom Boom

Label: Because Music

Format: CD

Genre: Experimental

In stock


Pascal Comelade, Lionel Limiñana and Marie Limiñana reunite for a new album entitled 'Boom Boom', the follow-up to 'Traité de guitarres triolectiques à l'usage des portugaises ensablées', their first trio work released in 2015. The new recording by this short-lived trio is built on common sonic lines: the riff, repetition and melodic prestidigitation. "Boom Boom' contains 12 previously unreleased tracks, recorded in early 2023 during a break in their respective activities. After his album released in 2022 ("Le non-sens du rythme"), Comelade collaborated with Lee Ranaldo (Sonic Youth) on the "Velvet serenade" project and produced a series of concerts in Lyon for 4 pianists. Lionel and Marie Limiñana have toured extensively, collaborating in 2021 with Laurent Garnier on the album 'De pelicula' and recording soundtracks for TV series and films. 

On this album, Comelade's keyboards are complemented by equally hypnotic guitar riffs and enhanced by some invaluable soloists: Barcelona guitarists Xarim Aresté and Lalo Lopez, and Ivan Telefunken (a veteran of Comelade's 'Bel Canto Orquestra' and live guitarist with the Limiñanas). Lionel Limiñana, Marc Hurtado (collaborator of Alan Vega and Lydia Lunch and member of Etants Donnés) and Mark Cunningham (of New York no-wave band Mars) also play some of the vocal parts. As for the texts of these 'songs', 'Fin du monde' is a pre-Dadaistic poem by Jakob Van Hoddis (1887-1942), 'Concinacion" is a poem in an imaginary language by Mallorcan Jacob Sureda (1901-1935), and Marcel Duchamp's phrase "My niece is cold because my knees are cold" is repeated on the aptly named "Ceci est un enregistrement magnétique". 

The 12 tracks on "Boom Boom" are co-written and produced by Pascal Comelade and Lionel Limiñana, who play all the instruments: on one side, pianos, electric organs, violins, accordion, melodica and tin cans; on the other, electric guitars and bass, folk, Moroccan bass, fuzz, cymbalum, Theremin... Marie Limiñana handles the percussion and drums. The album cover, an authentic canvas, is by Claudia Comelade.

Cat. number: BEC5612754-CD
Year: 2023