We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.
Special 10% discount on all available Library / Soundtracks items until Sunday at midnight!

Rodrigo Amado Motion Trio, Peter Evans

The Freedom Principle

Label: NoBusiness Records

Format: CD

In stock


Rodrigo Amado is a Portuguese saxophone player and photographer based in Lisbon. He is the leader of Rodrigo Amado Motion Trio with Gabriel Ferrandini & Miguel Mira, and also has his own quartet with Ferrandini, Manuel Mota and Hernâni Faustino. He also colaborates frequently with other free jazz musicians like Luís Lopes, the González brothers, Gerald Cleaver, Taylor Ho Bynum. Peter Evans is an American trumpet player based in New York, who specializes in improvisation and avant-garde music. Evans has been a member of the New York City musical community since 2003, when he moved to the city after graduating from The Oberlin Conservatory of Music (his earlier studies were in the Jazz Department of New England Conservatory of Music's School of Preparatory Education). Evans is part of a broad, hybridized scene of musical experimentation and his work cuts across a wide range of modern musical practices and traditions. His primary groups as a leader are the Peter Evans Quintet (with Ron Stabinsky, Sam Pluta, Tom Blancarte and Jim Black) and the Zebulon trio (with John Hebert and Kassa Overall). In addition, Evans has been performing and recording solo trumpet music since 2003 and is widely recognized as a leading voice in the field, having released several recordings over the past decade. He is a member of several fully cooperative groups, such as Pulverize the Sound, Rocket Science, Premature Burial. Evans has collaborated with a broad range of figures in modern music: Weasel Walter, Evan Parker, Matana Roberts, Tyshawn Sorey, John Zorn, Mary Halvorson, Peter Brotzmann, Aaron Burnett, Okkyung Lee, Nate Wooley, and has premiered compositions by Brian Ferneyhough, George Lewis, Eric Wubbels, Anthony Braxton and Barry Guy. He is also a member of the International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE) and Wet Ink. He has been commissioned by the ICE, Yarn/Wire, the Donaueschingen Musiktage Festival, the Jerome Foundation's Emerging Artist Program and was a 2014 Artist-in-Residence at Issue Project Room in Brooklyn, NY. He has presented and/or performed his music at many major international festivals and has toured his own groups extensively in Europe, Canada and the United States.

Cat. number: NBCD 67

All compositions by Amado / Evans / Mira / Ferrandini
Recorded by Joaquim Monte at Namouche Studios, Lisbon, March 18th, 2013
Mixed and mastered by Joaquim Monte and Rodrigo Amado
Design by Oskaras Anosovas
Produced by Rodrigo Amado
Executive Producer - Danas Mikailionis
Co-producer - Valerij Anosov

More from NoBusiness Records