The item has been added to your personal Favourites collection


An Anthology of Turkish Experimental Music 1961-2014
€ 17.90
View your shopping activity

Wishlist 0

Cart 0

various - An Anthology of Turkish Experimental Music 1961-2014


An Anthology of Turkish Experimental Music 1961-2014

€ 17.90

GENRE: Experimental | FORMAT: LPx2 | CATALOG N. SR 390LP | YEAR. (2016)

In Stock

Double LP version. This anthology features works by Turkish artists ranging from the electronic music of the 1960s to all forms of experimental music of the 2010s. This is Sub Rosa's second release exploring experimental music by zone or sphere of influence. The constellation built between 2000 and 2012 with Sub Rosa's seven-part Anthology Of Noise & Electronic Music continues to expand through the Early Electronic collection (consisting mostly of tracks composed between the '50s and the '80s) and these "area anthologies," this one released following An Anthology of Chinese Experimental Music 1992-2008 (SR 265CD). This collection covers a much wider time-frame than its predecessor; this is because, in Turkey, two exceptional composers emerged very early on to show the way to future generations that then followed in a piecemeal fashion. Indeed, Bülent Arel and Ä°lhan MimaroÄŸlu did not have immediate followers. The explosion happened later, through the "serious music" of conservatories and universities (Cenk Ergün, Koray TahiroÄŸlu, Mehmet Can Özer) and the electronic/noise music avant-garde (Nilüfer Ormanlı, Utku Tavil) -- the great wave of the 2000s and 2010s. The beauty of this collection lies in its multifaceted nature; it features purely formal music, hijacked electronica, remnants of Turkish harmonies, and pieces that are more conceptual or even political (vaguely or strongly) in design. Batur Sönmez and Erdem HelvacıoÄŸlu have managed to capture this diversity and energy. And it so happens that this profusion of music, related to an urgency to live and think freely, is blooming within an increasingly stifling space. Call it the spectacular beauty of an explosion. Most of the material included here has not been released before. Includes works by Bülent Arel, Ä°lhan MimaroÄŸlu, Erdem HelvacıoÄŸlu, Batuhan Bozkurt, Alper Maral, Batur Sönmez, Cenk Ergün, Korhan Erel, Sair Sinan Kestelli, Koray TahiroÄŸlu, Mehmet Can Özer, Nilüfer Ormanlı, Utku Tavil, Asaf Zeki Yüksel, SIFIR (Zafer Aracagök), Cem Güney, Tuna Pase, 2/5BZ, Cevdet Erek, Reverie Falls On All, and Burçin Elmas.

Notes   Tracklisting
There are no notes associated with this item
There are no tracklisting associated with this item