The item has been added to your personal Favourites collection

mv & ee - bummer road

Mother of Thousands
€ 27.00
View your shopping activity

Wishlist 0

Cart 0

mv & ee - bummer road - Mother of Thousands

mv & ee - bummer road

Mother of Thousands

€ 27.00

GENRE: Experimental | FORMAT: Vinyl LPx2 | CATALOG N. lag033lp | YEAR. (2010)

Out of stock

As with their previous 'proper' full-length Gettin' Gone, new album Drone Trailer finds Matt Valentine and Erika Elder Still hooked up with The Golden Road, and ready to spurt forth blistering passages of galvanized psych-rock at a moment's notice: after a scorching pile-up of vintage guitar muck, opener 'Anyway' draws to an ill-behaved conclusion with some improv guitar and free-noise skronk, all completely undermined by a jazzy line in tremolo rhodes piano tinkering. Despite such flights of fancy you'll still hear a deep-set bluegrass theme at the core of the duo's sound - manifesting itself most explicitly on the harmonica-laden Americana of 'The Hungry Stones' - but it's also there in the astral-plane guitar licks of 'Huna Cosm' and the off-topic extravagances of 'Weathered Hollow', a magnificent piece of florid improvisation and disembodied folk rock. Elsewhere, the comparatively stripped down aesthetic of 'Twitchin' reveals the Neil Young influence that's previously been so prevalent in MV & EE's work, and true to form their strange take on classic songwriting carries a unique, inimitable resonance. Brilliant.

Notes   Tracklisting

Recorded at Maximum Arousal Farm, Parsons Smokehouse, Lost Planet and Elder's plantation Autumn 2004-Autumn 2005
2" analog saturation of digital master done at Vintage Rogalow Analog Studio, Poland

Limited edition of 1000 copies

A1             The Joyous Within      3:38     
A2           Cold Rain     4:07    
        Shaker [Rice & Beans] - Tim Barnes
A3           Beautiful Mountain     2:09    
A4           Anthem Of The Cocola Y & T     13:20    
        Violin, Bass - Samara Lubelski
B1           My Love For You Has Turned To Life     0:40    
B2           Sunshine Girl     4:52    
        Crotales [Mooncrotales], Tambourine, Drums - Tim Barnes
B3           Canned Heat Blues     8:24    
B4           C.C. Pills     8:13    
        Guitar [Slide] - Erika Elder
B5           Sun Shine On Us All     2:05    
C1           Meditations On Payday     15:24    
        Arranged By - Bummer Road*
  Guitar [Bee-tone] - Nemo Bidstrup
  Written-By - Mississippi John Hurt
C2           Banty Rooster Blues     6:07    
        Arranged By - MV & EE*
  Written-By - Charlie Patton*
C3           Dissatisfied     1:47    
        Guitar [Slide] - Erika Elder
D1           Death Don't Have No Mercy     23:33    
        Arranged By - Bummer Road*
  Guitar [Bee-tone] - Nemo Bidstrup
  Written-By - Reverend Gary Davis*