This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more


Out of stock


77 Boa Drum

Label: Thrill Jockey

Format: DVD

Genre: Experimental

Out of stock

An amazing feature length documentary all about Boredoms' hugely ambitious 2007 performance, orchestrating seventy-seven drummers at a park in Brooklyn, NY. Presumably for some grand cosmic reason the number 7 plays a big part in this whole enterprise. The concert itself took place on July 7th 2007 at 7:07 PM and correspondingly the documentary is 77 minutes, 777 seconds long. In addition to some great footage of this huge live show, there's plenty of rehearsal footage revealing the processes and characters behind the music, with plenty of performer interviews - there's a roster of indie-rock drumming heroes involved that includes Brian Chippendale (Lightning Bolt), Butchy Fuego (Pit Er Pat/M.I.A.), Daniel Franz (Arboretum), Chris Brokaw (The New Year) and Tim DeWitt (Gang Gang Dance). "On July 7th, 2007 at 7:07 PM, Japanese group Boredoms, orchestrated a performance by 77 drummers at the Empire-Fulton Ferry State Park in Brooklyn, NY. Nearly three years later, the experience is finally making its way to DVD. 77 Boa Drum is the official live performance documentary of the event, complete with behind the scenes rehearsal footage, interviews, and of course, lots of footage of the actual performance. The momentous event was filmed by Jun Kawaguchi and his crew, web-TV sites like VBS TV, Viva-Radio, and several unknown You Tube cameramen. Kawaguchi, a big fan of Boredoms, had spent a decade chronicling the band's live performances and the 77 Boa Drum concert was no different. After editing his footage together with live footage captured and posted on You Tube, the 89 minute documentary was born." The 77 piece band features, alongside Boredoms, members of The No-Neck Blues Band, Lightning Bolt, Excepter, Gang Gang Dance, Psychic Ills, Bardo Pond, Soft Circle and more. (Boomkat)
Cat. number: Thrill 250 DVD
Year: 2006


Super Roots 10
Vinyl LP | €15.99