This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more


Out of stock
Best of 2015
01. Mysterious Delirious Fluke of the Beyond
02. Abide In Sunset
03. Dolphin Cave Dazzling
04. Cabin
05. In Ex Or Able
06. A Lucky Stone

Eremite presents the first CD edition of Joshua Abrams's acclaimed 2010 LP Natural Information, now out of print on vinyl. Abrams's first record for Eremite is another fascinating entry in his discography of recordings that gather aesthetic input from all over the map into vivid personal statements. At the heart of Natural Information is the guimbri, a three-stringed animal hide bass traditionally used by the Gnawa people of North Africa in healing ceremonies. Combining solo, trio, and quartet formats with adroit use of sampling techniques, Abrams creates intricate, psychedelic environments that join the hypnotic character of Gnawa guimbri music to more contemporary musics and methodologies. Natural Information garnered praise from Downbeat, The New York Times, and Wax Poetics, appeared on best-of-2010 lists from WFMU, Dusted, and Aquarius, and was selected as one of the 50 notable records of 2010 by The Wire. Played with Jason Adasiewicz, Lisa Alvarado, Jim Baker, Ben Boye, Emmett Kelly, Frank Rosaly, and Noritaka Tanaka. CD edition packaged in a Stoughton high-gloss miniaturized gatefold sleeve with 20 minutes of previously unreleased additional material.

Cat. number: MTE 061CD
Year: 2015